Reflections

Anyone who knows me will know I am a serious fitness fanatic – exercise has been a gift to me in my recovery from hard times in my life. However, although I have always loved sports, I only got into working out through my discovery of “Blogilates”, an exercise channel on youtube run by Cassey Ho, at the age of 13. Admittedly, I have become more independent in my fitness journey but without the inspiration Cassey gave me maybe I wouldn’t be where I am now.

Today I came across a new video by Cassey called ‘The “Perfect” Body’ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PsL7W-GHhJA). Considering the theme of my blog at the moment, I decided to watch it; I was immediately touched.

In just 2 minutes and 25 seconds Cassey makes an impeccable depiction of a thought I’m sure many, if not all of us, have had: “I am not good enough”. She makes an important point about the pressure imposed on us not just by the media, but by one another – yet this is something we are still so in denial about. Of course, its a natural instinct to protect ourselves, to reject responsibility for our wrongdoings – people have denied their own prejudices for years and the guilt of realising we have ‘judged a book by its cover’, to use a tired idiom, is something we still struggle to handle. But in our “enlightened age”, it is time to start taking responsibility rather than blaming a faceless organisation that is too big for anyone to comprehend. Though the media definitely has an impact on our shockingly bad body image, behind the magazines, the television programmes and the radio there are people just like you and me. We are the ones paying billions to consume this mind-rotting, soul-draining drivel, we must be the ones who make a difference.

Let’s follow the example of Cassey Ho, a person who, just like many other men and women around the world, has been a victim of body-shaming and judgement. I challenge you, as I have challenged myself, to go out and enjoy meeting new people in the confidence that you do not need to judge them: appreciate their personalities, appreciate their appearances… maybe even give them a compliment (but only if its genuine). Then do the same to yourself. In the words of Michael Jackson, “if you wanna make the world a better place, take a look at yourself and then make a change”.

One thought on “Reflections

Leave a Reply

